Vigor Wins Makybe Diva Stakes

September 7, 2009

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Vigor Wins Makybe Diva Stakes

Vigor has earned his place in the Caulfield Cup after winning the Makybe Diva Stakes over the weekend.

The Danny O’Brien trained gelding won the Group 2 race carrying 59kg after beating the favourite Typhoon Tracy by a nose length.

Ridden by champion jockey Damien Oliver, this was the first time that Vigor’s racing ability was truly tested against other quality horses.

The Makybe Diva Stakes became a heated battle between Vigor and Typhoon Tracy when the two horses were head to head at the 300 metre mark.

Both horses began to pull away from the rivals however Vigor managed to push past Typhoon Tracy in the last few metres to win the 1600 metre race.

Vigor’s stable mate Master O’Reilly came in at third place followed by Melbourne Cup placegetter C’est La Guerre.

The 5 year old needed to win this particular race in order to be guaranteed a place in the upcoming Caulfield Cup.

The Stakes winner has dropped to 51kg for the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup so there is debate over whether Oliver will ride the horse or if the job will passed on to Corey Brown.

Oliver does not normally ride below 53kg however he sounds very keen to break his rule just this once for the Caulfield Cup favourite.

Vigor will now go on to ride in the 1800 metre Underwood Stakes at Caulfield on September 21.

Makybe Diva Stakes Placings:

1st Vigor
2nd Typhoon Tracy
3rd Master O’Reilly
4th C’est La Guerre
5th Heart of Dreams
6th Pacino
7th Predatory Pricer
8th Red Ruler
9th Zagreb
10th He’s Something
11th Maco’Reilly
12th Kibbutz

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Galaxy Final Field: Jungl...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final Field: She Will Reign draws barrier 1

Last year’s Golden Slipper winner She Will Reign has drawn barrier one in the...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff’s Edge draws the rails in capacity field

Front running colt Cliff’s Edge has drawn the rails in the capacity field for...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field