Scenic Blast Takes Home Crowning Title

September 1, 2009

Scenic Blast Takes Home Crowning Title

Scenic Blast has swept away the competition to be crowned this year’s Australian Racehorse of the Year.

The West Australian sprinter was also crowned the Champion Sprinter and with a unanimous vote from 69 judges, the Champion International Performer.

The Danny Morton trained chestnut is renowned for beating the best sprinters in both Australia and Europe and won the coveted prize with 55.1 per cent of votes.

The award makes Scenic Blast the first West Australian trained horse to win the esteemed prize since Northerly in 2002.

Along with Miss Andretti, Scenic Blast is the only sprinter to have been crowned the Australian Racehorse of the Year in the past 20 years.

The news comes after a great season where the champion won both the Group 1 Lightning Stakes and the Newmarket Handicap.

He also blitzed the competition at Royal Ascot to win the King’s Stand Stakes.

But Scenic Blast’s racing career hasn’t been the easiest with the horse requiring laser surgery after it was discovered that the horse at breathing problems during last spring’s Memsie Stakes.

Scenic Blast’s next challenge takes place on October 4 when the horse will travel to Nakayama in Japan for the $2.6 million 1200 metre Sprinter Stakes.

The other award recipients include:

  • Champion 2yo – Phelan Ready
  • Champion 3yo colt and gelding – Whobegotyou
  • Champion 3yo – Samantha Miss
  • Champion Middle Distance horse – Theseo
  • Champion stayer – Viewed
  • Champion Jumper – Pentiffic
  • Champion Sire – Encosta De Lago
  • Champion Group 1 jockey – Nash Rawiller
  • Champion group one trainer – Gai Waterhouse
  • Best International Performer Bred in Australia – Hong Kong Sprinter Sacred Kingdom

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ips...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ipswich Cup

A final field of eleven will line up in the 2018 Listed $175,000 Channel 7...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?