Racing Hall of Fame Reveals Inductees

August 25, 2009

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Racing Hall of Fame Reveals Inductees

Seven new inductees will be welcomed next week into the prestigious Australian Racing Hall of Fame. As always, Melbourne Cup victors are among the line-up, including three-time Melbourne Cup winning jockey Jim Johnson. Joining Johnson in the jockeys’ category is Harold Badger, winner of six Melbourne Jockeys’ Premierships between 1938 and 1948.

The official ceremony will be conducted in Melbourne on Monday August 31 in conjunction with the Australian horse of the Year awards. The other champions of the turf to secure their place in Australian racing history include trainers Bayly Payten who won seven Sydney Metropolitan Trainers’ Premierships between 1940 and 1948; and Jack Green best known for his 1958 Melbourne Cup victory with Baystone.

The two horses to be inducted this year are the champion stallion Strawberry Road, and the 1950 Melbourne Cup legend, Comic Court.

The final inductee to be honoured, in the Associate category, is influential racing journalist Bill Whittaker, who was awarded with the 2008 Order of Australia Medal.

This year the racing public have been invited to vote for which of the four Hall of Fame nominated members will be elevated to Legend status, joining the “Cups King” Bart Cummings and the iconic Phar Lap.

The finalists are trainer TJ Smith, jockey Scobie Breasley, the magnificent mare Makybe Diva who won the Melbourne Cup three years in succession, and Carbine who dominated Australian racing in the late 19th century.

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Redzel To Beat Winx in Sydney ...

Redzel To Beat Winx in Sydney Trial on Monday

The world’s best mare Winx will be on show under the public eye for the first...

Ambitious Futurity Stakes 2018...

Ambitious Futurity Stakes 2018 Target for Japanese Expat

Mornington horseman Anthony Freedman is eyeing the 2018 Futurity Stakes on...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field